Magnitogorsk Wins 2000 IIHF Super Cup in Overtime
It took until overtime before the 2000 IIHF Super Cup winner was declared:  and it took Alexei Troschinskyi to step into the decisive role before it was all over. After the scoreless first period, the scoring was opened in the second by Matvei Beloussov of Magnitogorsk.  Ambri-Piotta had the puck deep in the Magnitogorsk zone, rallying around the goal and hitting the goal post once but then Magnitogorsk managed to clear the puck and all of a sudden there was a classic two-on-one situation in the other end of the rink.  Oleg Leontiev and Alexei Kaluyzhny assisted Beloussov, who put the puck behind Pauli Jaks into the far corner of the net at 27:23.
The last period was opened by fast skating Ambri attacks.  Finally, Paolo Imperatori managed to tie the game on a goal assisted by Vitaly Lakhmatov four minutes into the third period.  Magnitogorsk captain Evgeni Koreshkov seemed to be the hero of the game when he  scored the 2-1 goal with less than eight minutes to go in the game, on a three-on-two situation from a perfect pass from Alexei Troshchinski.  But going into the final two minutes of play in the third period, Ambri was provided a powerplay opportunity.  Coach Pierre Page pulled Jaks from the goal and Ambri attacked with six skaters on four.  Magnitogorsk had control of the puck in their own end but had a costly turnover at their own blue line. Daniel Marois standing alone in front of goalkeeper Igor Karpenko received the loose puck and shot it into the far corner of the net tying the game with only 26 seconds to go in regulation time.  The tied game went into overtime. Magnitogorsk came storming into the sudden victory period with two shots on goal in the opening seconds and kept the puck in the offensive zone.  Thirty seconds into overtime, Troshchinski from the blue line let his one-timer fly through the traffic in front of the Ambri net, beating Pauli Jaks and the game was over.   Magnitogorsk, by winning the Magnus Orbis trophy, is now the most successful European club team after winning two consecutive European Hockey League titles before capturing the 2000 IIHF Super Cup title tonight.

All Statistics